top of page
Search

Balancing work and homeschooling

Working and homeschooling? Is it even possible?


It is! It might sound completely crazy, but it is possible. It just takes a lot of flexibility and consistency mixed together.


My husband and I both work, and we both work from home. It’s been that way even before Covid. It’s something he and I have had to master in order to be able to get in a full day of work, as well as a full day of homeschooling, in addition to everything else that life brings. We don’t do it perfectly, but I think we do a pretty good job.


When I think of homeschooling as a way of life, rather than as a specific part of our day, it allows for work, life, and homeschooling to all function together, without feeling (too) overwhelmed. So, while we do rely on a daily schedule, it’s less about dividing the day into “learning” and “not learning” times and more about ensuring we’ll get to the things we’ve planned...


Having a consistent rhythm is essential. I need to know when I can be available for hands-on learning with the kids and when I need alone time to work. I use the term “alone time” very loosely. It can vary from day to day, but mostly I dedicate the first few hours of the morning to being with the kids, and the next few hours to work. Additionally, when the kids are doing their own things, I will squeeze in work. For example, I might work on some chemistry with my son for an hour, and then while he’s doing his own research, I can pull out my computer. Although I’m getting my own work done, I’m still available to help him.


I do need to be careful that I don’t over-work. I can easily convince myself that I haven’t done enough and need to do one more (or 10 more) things on my work to-do list. It’s important for me to step away after working a sufficient amount for the day, and accept that there will always be more for me to do, and it will still be there in the morning.


Here are some tips I’ve learned along the way:


  • Create a homeschool rhythm that allows for change when needed!

We’ve had the same morning routine for as long as I can remember. Everyone knows what our mornings bring, without me having to say it out loud. Even if there’s a change to the day, we can easily slip back into our rhythm without too much disruption. Usually ;)



  • Review the day each morning:

Even with a stable rhythm to our days, we still make sure to touch base with everyone in the mornings. Once chores, breakfast, and self-care is completed, we go over what the day will bring: which classes are happening, if I have any meetings, if there’s work to complete, any projects that want to be done, places we want to go, etc. We often write everything down on small white boards for each child, so they can refer to it throughout the day


  • Compartmentalize work hours:

Our lifestyle does require multitasking, but I prefer not to do that whenever possible. If I can spend a few hours of each day devoted specifically to work while the kids are occupied, it allows me to give my full focus to them when I can and to work when I can. If I don’t compartmentalize my work hours, it feels like work is never over.


  • Work side-by-side when your children are occupied (zoom classes, self-directed projects, reading, outside, etc.):

When compartmentalizing my time is not possible, I like to work side-by-side with my children. If my son is doing some work for a class, or my daughter is doing some math online, I can sit next to them with my computer and work. Aside from the pure necessity of this, I also find it healthy for them to see me working, and see how the career choices I have made help us create our lifestyle.



  • Establish responsibilities between caregivers (Who is present with the kids when? Who is planning what? Home responsibilities?):

My husband and I have several known responsibilities we each take. I do the homeschool planning. He makes dinners. He works first thing in the morning, while I am with the kids, and then we switch off. If we both have meetings, we might just have less hands-on time with the kids that day and more another day. Our shared calendars and morning check-ins also help us stay on the same page for any changes that arise.


  • Create shared calendars:

We use Google calendars for just about everything. My husband and I share calendars with each other, so we’re aware of when each of us has a meeting or a call, or the kids have a class. Now that many classes are being organized with Google classroom, even those show up, too. As our children get older, they’ve been using Google calendars, as well, and can have access to a zoom link or classroom assignment with ease.


  • Officially tag in/out with other caregivers (and let the kids know):

I make sure the kids know when I am not available, and usually sequester myself in the bedroom. I have to remove myself physically in order to make sure the kids are aware that I need to take a phone call or get into a meeting. If my husband is available, I make sure to tell them that, too.



  • Embrace your village:

While this might be a little more difficult right now, we depend on our village! If I need to miss our co-op day, or I have too many meetings in a day, or just need a minute to myself, it’s so lovely to have some other homeschooling families to rely on.


  • Accept “off” hours:

There are times, more than I’d like, that late night, early morning, or weekend work hours are just part of the plan. If I know I’m going to be at our homeschool co-op the next day, or taking the kids somewhere without wi-fi, or deeply engaged with them at home in the morning, I might try to get a bunch of work done the night before. I might get up early to take a quick look at work to see if there’s anything pressing but feel okay walking away until later in the day. This also goes for homeschooling activities; the weekends are not off-bounds for learning. This loops back to the idea that homeschooling is a lifestyle, so learning really never stops, weekend or not!



  • Work in nature (or anyplace available):

I have worked at the beach, at campsites, in the car, at the grocery store… just about anyplace you can think of.


  • Practice self-care:

This is a tough one! But so important! Taking a break, whatever that means, is vital. Going for a walk, listening to a podcast, meditating, enjoying a cup of tea… if I don’t do it, I’m not nearly as nice a person. This has to be a priority, or my mental, and physical health, suffers.


While working and homeschooling comes with its fair share of challenges, it’s definitely worth all the benefits. And I feel pretty lucky to be able to do both.


Any other tips for working caregivers who also homeschool?


Comments


bottom of page